If you are arrested in Alabama accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) you could find yourself facing severe consequences.
The punishment will depend on a whole range of issues, including how much over the limit you were, your driving history, previous offenses and if anyone was injured in the incident. The penalties can include all or some of jail time, a fine and suspension of your driving license.
In Alabama, driving under the influence is defined as driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of
0.08% or more. This is reduced to 0.04% or more in a commercial vehicle and halved to 0.02% or more, if you are younger than 21.
For a first offense of a DUI, you may receive up to a year in jail plus a fine of $500 to $2,000, suspension of your driver’s license for 90 days and compulsory attendance at a DUI treatment and education program.
For a 2nd offense, you may face 48 hours to a year in jail, 20 days of community service, a fine of $1,000 to $5,000 and license suspension for a year. For a third offence within a five year period you may receive 60 days to a year in jail, a fine of $2,000 to $10,000 and three years without your driver’s license. Finally for a fourth offence or more within five years, you will be looking at jail time of one to ten years, a fine of $4,000 to $10,000 and suspension of your license for five years.
In certain circumstances you may be required to fit an ignition interlock devices which require you to pass a breathalyzer test before your car will start.
Once the period of suspension for your driver’s license is over, in order to have it returned you will have to meet reinstatement requirements as laid down when you were convicted. These can include financial responsibility statements, attendance at a drug and alcohol treatment program and the need to pass another driving test.